Heavenly Hot Fudge Sauce a.k.a. “GOO”

15 Nov

I firmly believe that if you can create a commercial product at home from scratch ingredients, you’ve arrived!

This hot fudge recipe is as close to the stuff in ice cream shops or the Golden Arches $1 sundae.  Only it’s BETTER, it’s from scratch and could be made from ingredients that you actually recognize!

Delicious!!

My friend, Mrs. Martin contributes this recipe to my blog.  She is the first to contribute a family recipe, either passed down or created frequently in her family.  If you have one you want to share with my readers, please send it!!

From Mrs. Martin,

“This recipe comes from the Out of Swedish Kitchens cookbook, complied by the women of the Evangelical Covenant Church in Princeton, IL.  This town is where my grandmother and her sister grew up and this is the church they attended with my great-grandparents.  My great-aunt was a member of this church for 77 years!

Yes, it is WONDERFUL over vanilla ice cream and I love adding peanuts with mine! We have goo at almost every family get-together and esp. at Christmas–over peppermint ice cream then! My 3 brothers all know how to make it.” 

Unsweetened Baking Chocolate, Salt, Vanilla, Butter, Sugar and Evaporated Milk

 
Heavenly Hot Fudge Sauce (AKA Chocolate Goo)

4 Squares Unsweetened Baking Chocolate (or 4 oz.)
1/2 c. Margarine or Unsalted Butter
3 c. Sugar
1/4 t. Salt
(1) 12 oz. Can Evaporated Milk
1 t. vanilla

Directions:
Melt chocolate squares and margarine in a double boiler. Combine the sugar and salt; gradually add sugar mixture, about 1/2 C. at a time, to the chocolate mixture. It will be very thick and grainy. Gradually add evaporated milk and vanilla. Mix thoroughly. Cook uncovered over low heat for 7-8 minutes in the double boiler until well blended. Cool slightly then pour into 1 quart size jar.  Makes 1 quart. Store in refrigerator.  Reheat desired amount before serving.

With a recommendation like this, how could I NOT share it!  Mrs. Martin also told me that one of her sons loves it so much that he offered it at his wedding reception.

Here it is with vanilla ice cream, crushed almonds and lots of Goo.  I’m such a sucker for chocolate and almonds and salt!

I just couldn't decide between sundae pictures. It was like asking me to choose my favorite kid. I have both in this post now. 😀

Cook’s Notes:
– We were impatient and wanted some right away.  I poured into a container for the refrigerator, but left a small amount in the bowl and put the bowl in the freezer.  Stirred in a few minutes and a few minutes later, it was perfect consistency!
– Also, we don’t own a microwave, so now that it’s refrigerated, it is thick.  I will warm some up in a small skillet.  Yum! 

I hope you try it and enjoy it!  Let me know how you served your Goo!

Leave a comment